Quantcast

Eagle Syndrome - Online Support Group

Day 18 post surgery

Hi all,

Im Daphne. New to the group. This has been a long road for me these past two years. Caught a flesh eating parasite from a vacation trip to Barbados, that took doctors 18 months to diagnose. In the interrim, my body went haywire and started calcifying in response to the infection being untreated. I finally have some resolution of symptoms after having L sided styloidectomy and removal of my stylohyoid ligament and a bit of my styloid (external approach) . Honestly after such a long time of feeling ill, I had the hopes of jumping off the operating table symptom free. Obviously not the case (should know better as I am a physical therapist myself). Luckily I havent had crazy amounts of pain in the incision, just a bit of sore ness and muscle spasming along the front of my neck, traps and deltoid with some spasming and numbness into my fingers. The one thing that has me really concerned is the fact the that my calcification was so much that they may have stretched my nerve under my jaw too much. Jawline is still numb and the muscles of my chin that depress my lower lip feel heavy. I feel like talking is tough and when I laugh my bottom lip gets caught. My smile, jaw opening and resting lip position look much better than day one after surgery. How long did it take for those of you that had some lip affect for these nerves to start feeling/working normally again?