Quantcast

Eagle Syndrome - Online Support Group

Https://onlinelibrary.wiley.com/doi/full/10.1111/cns.13148

https://onlinelibrary.wiley.com/doi/full/10.1111/cns.13148

For those who have vascular Eagle’s - it may be known as “Cervical spondylotic internal jugular venous compression syndrome”.

This is exactly what my neurologist called it after reviewing my CT before sending me to the surgeon :sweat_smile:

Thanks VDM, will have a read, sounds very helpful!

Hooray for complicated names to describe vascular compression caused by ES!! :crazy_face:

I was absolutely astonished that the article never mentions “Eagle’s syndrome” nor uses any sources to it in the reference list. And maybe for good. As we all know, some doctors simply “don’t believe” in Eagle’s as it sounds like healing magnets magic stones. Though they might believe in “Cervical spondylotic internal jugular venous compression syndrome”.

2 Likes

Caveat: I am not a doctor, BUT after perusing the article, I wonder if the resection of the transverse process(es) (TP) of the C1 vertebra was necessary in every case.

The 3D image presented in the top picture set (below) shows a person with extremely elongated styloid processes & IJV compression. The styloid in the 3D image in the bottom picture set (below) is harder to see, but the caption states the IJV compression is being caused by the left styloid.

I propose from this, & other information in the article, that it may be unidentified Eagle Syndrome causing the compression in both cases & that the removal/shortening of the TP of the C1 vertebra was unnecessary. If the styloid process(es) alone were removed, the patient could potentially have the same result as w/ resection of both styloid & TP of C1. The surgery would be less complex & recovery easier w/ only styloid resection.